President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada, Hon. Mitchell William Sharp

President of the Treasury Board, Hon. Joseph-Jacques-Jean Chrétien

Minister of Transport, Hon. Jean Marchand

Minister of Finance, Hon. John Napier Turner

Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, Hon. Judd Buchanan

Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources, Hon. Donald Stovel Macdonald

Minister of Labour, Hon. John Carr Munro

Minister of Communications, Hon. Gérard Pelletier

Minister of the Environment, Hon. Jeanne Sauvé

Minister of Public Works and Minister of State for Science and Technology, Hon. Charles Mills Drury

Minister of State for Urban Affairs, Hon. Barnett Danson

Minister of Regional Economic Expansion, Hon. Donald Campbell Jamieson

Minister of Manpower and Immigration, Hon. Robert Knight Andras

Minister of National Defence, Hon. James Armstrong Richardson

Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, Hon. Otto Emil Lang

Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs, Hon. André Ouellet

Minister of National Revenue, Hon. Stanley Ronald Basford

Minister of Supply and Services and Receiver General of Canada, Hon. Jean-Pierre Goyer

Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce, Hon. Alastair William Gillespie

Minister of Agriculture, Hon. Eugene Francis Whelan

Solicitor General of Canada, Hon. Warren Allmand

Secretary of State of Canada, Hon. James Hugh Faulkner

Postmaster General, Hon. Bryce Mackasey

Minister of Veterans Affairs, Hon. Daniel Joseph MacDonald

Minister of National Health and Welfare, Hon. Marc Lalonde

Minister of State (Fisheries), Hon. Roméo Leblanc.

Each Cabinet Minister usually assumes responsibility for one of the departments of government, although a Minister may hold more than one portfolio at the same time or he may hold one or more portfolios and one or more acting portfolios. A Minister without portfolio may be invited to join the Cabinet because the Prime Minister wishes to have him in the Cabinet without the heavy duties of running a department, or he may be invited to join the Cabinet to provide a suitable balance of regional representation. Because of the cultural and geographical diversity that exists in Canada, it is necessary for the Prime Minister to give more attention to the representational aspect of his Cabinet than is necessary for his counterparts in many other countries.

With the enactment of the Ministries and Ministers of State Act (Government Organization Act, 1970), four categories of Ministers of the Crown may be identified: departmental Ministers, Ministers without portfolio, and two types of Ministers of state. Ministers of state "for designated purposes" may occupy an office created by proclamation. They are charged with responsibilities for developing new and comprehensive policies in areas where the development of such policies is of particular urgency and importance and have a mandate effectively determined by the Governor in Council which would be of such duration as to enable them to come to grips with the policy problems assigned to them. They may receive powers, duties and functions and exercise supervision and control of relevant elements of the Public Service, and may seek parliamentary appropriations independently of any Minister to cover the cost of their staff and operations. Other Ministers of state may be appointed to assist a departmental Minister in the discharge of his responsibilities. They may receive statutory powers, duties and functions and are limited in number by the appropriations that Parliament is willing to pass. They receive the same salary as a Minister without portfolio, as provided for in the estimates of the Minister with whom they are associated. Ministers in all four categories are appointed on the advice of the Prime Minister by commission under the Great Seal of Canada, to serve at pleasure, and to be accountable to Parliament as members of the government and for any responsibility that might be assigned to them by law or otherwise.

In Canada, almost all executive acts of the government are carried out in the name of the Governor in Council. The Committee of the Privy Council makes submissions to the Governor General for his approval, and he is bound by the Constitution in nearly all circumstances to accept them. About 3,650 such Orders in Council were enacted in 1972 and 4,618 in 1973. Although some were fairly routine and did not require much discussion in Cabinet of the policy underlying them, others were of major significance and required extensive deliberation,